Several high-profile MLAs lose their seats

Posted By: May 08, 2016

A number of high-profile MLAs have failed to retain their seats at Stormont, following the latest election.

Story by UTV Staff, Belfast. May 7, 2016

Dolores Kelly of the SDLP was neck-and-neck with Sinn Féin’s John O’Dowd to clinch the last seat in Upper Bann, but lost out narrowly in the end.

John McCallister, formerly of NI21 but running as an independent, failed to keep his place in South Down.

Sinn Féin lost Maeve McLaughlin in Foyle, Cathal ó hOisín in East Londonderry, Rosie McCorley in West Belfast, and Phil Flanagan in Fermanagh South Tyrone.

The DUP lost Jonathan Craig in Lagan Valley, Ian McCrea in Mid Ulster, and David McIlveen in North Antrim.

The SDLP also lost Fearghal McKinney in South Belfast, Gerard Diver in Foyle, Karen McKevitt in Newry and Armagh, and Sean Rogers in South Down.

The UUP lost Adrian Cochrane-Watson in South Antrim.