Posted By: August 26, 2013

  Chosen For World Peace Prize Awarding Council

 CAPITOL HILL. Sunday, August 25, 2011.  — Fr. Sean Mc Manus, President of the Capitol Hill-based Irish National Caucus, has been chosen to serve on the World Peace Awarding Council (WPPAC). The Council consists of twelve international and interfaith members.

 “ This was totally unforeseen and unexpected,” explained the Irish-born priest. “I was really surprised to receive the invitation to serve from Dr. Han Min Su, Co-Founder and Executive Judge, who is based in South Korea. Naturally, I am deeply honored and humbly grateful. Doubly so, because my dear friend former Congressman Lester Wolff (D-NY) is the Chief Judge. And in 2011, another dear friend, former Congressman Ben Gilman (R-NY) was presented with the World Peace Prize. Both of these splendid Jewish-Americans did wonderful work for human rights, justice and peace in Ireland. I shall be eternally grateful to both.”

In its Mission Statement, the WPPAC states:

“World Peace Prize is an  initiative   to  promote   world  peace  and inter-religious   understanding.  It is awarded periodically   to individuals who have contributed to the causes of world peace by preventing regional conflicts or  world  war;  by  settling  the  disputes  of  political,  diplomatic and economic  matters;  by developing  new inventions  to minimize  threats and confusions  within mankind…”

The World Peace Prize is a prestigious award presented by the World Peace Corps Mission, an international Evangelical missionary organization. It was established in 1989 by the late former Congressman Robert L. Leggett (D-NY) and Dr. Han Min Su.

Previous recipients of the Peace Prize include President Ronald Reagan;

Yitzhak Rabin, former Prime Minister of Israel; Fidel Valdez Ramos, former President of the Philippines; and Gen. Yakubu Gowan, former President of the Republic of Nigeria.

The other Judges on the World Peace Prize Council are: Rev. Dr. Han Min Su, Christian, South Korea; Honorable Lester Wolff, Jewish, USA; Dr. Suzi Leggett, Catholic, USA; Dr. Carlito S. Puno,  Christian, Philippines; Dr. Shiu Loon Kong, Confucian, China; Former Ambassador, Dr. Bhupatary M. Oza, Hindu, India; Former Ambassador, Dr. Asher Naim, Jewish, Israel; Former Ambassador, Dr. Mohamed A. Cholkamy, Muslim, Egypt; Dr. Epharaim Isaac, Jewish, USA; Honorable Peter Lewis, former Speaker of the South Australian House of Assembly, Christian, Australia; Former Navy Commander, De. Gennady P. Turmov, Russian Orthodox, Russia.