Barbara Flaherty: Peace Ambassador

Posted By: September 05, 2013

 Caucus Leader appointed World Peace Roving Ambassador

CAPITOL Hill.  Thursday, September 5, 2013 —- The Executive Vice President of the Capitol Hill-based Irish National Caucus, Barbara J. Flaherty, has been appointed Roving Ambassador for Peace by the World Peace Corps Mission.
The World Peace Corps Mission is an international Evangelical missionary organization, headquartered in South Korea, and led by Dr. Han Min Su, the world-renowned evangelical-peace leader.
Ms. Flaherty said: “I told Dr. Han Min Su that I accepted this great honor with deep gratitude and with all due humility. I see it as an extension of the work I have been privileged to do with Fr. Sean Mc Manus over all these years.”
Fr. Mc Manus was last week appointed as one of the twelve international and inter-faith Judges on the World Peace Prize Awarding Council.
Both Ms. Flaherty and Fr. Mc Manus will travel to South Korea in November to be sworn in at the World Peace Ceremony.
Barbara J. Flaherty’s Bio.
Executive Vice President, Irish National Caucus
Barbara Flaherty is a teacher and educator. She has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Secondary Education from The University of Maryland, College Park, and holds a Master of Science Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Western Maryland College, graduating with a 4.0 average (highest with honor). She was inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, Kappa Delta Pi (an international honor society in education), and The Golden Key Honor  Society.
Barbara has spent two decades teaching history in the Prince George’s County, Maryland system. She says, “I loved teaching, and I have worked with the best trained educators in the country.”
In 2005, she received the Outstanding Educator Award.
Barbara has also spent many years working in the non-profit sector.
She is now the Executive Vice President of the Irish National Caucus, the Capitol Hill-based human rights group that has kept the cause of Irish justice and peace before the United States Congress for over forty years.